A Creative Day

I have to admit that I have to be in just the right mood to papercraft.  I have always loved teaching the art of rubberstamping and scrapbooking, but sometimes find that I’m not always in the “right frame of mind” to create for myself.  I also have usually stamped alone – a release I suppose, sometimes I fall asleep thinking about the next card I want to make and wake up the next morning to not one ounce of creativity flowing in my body.  I’ve learned that it’s pointless to try and make myself create…I end up with a card I don’t like, a scrapbook layout that just doesn’t have what I’m looking for.  There are days when sometimes I just like to go in my craft room and look at my stuff…I want to see it, touch it, smell it, but I don’t want to create!  Yesterday was not one of those days!

First of all I have been extremely excited about my new venture as a scrapbooking and papercrafting consultant – if you hadn’t noticed you must not be reading very regularly!  Second, I have met a wonderful new friend (from here on I will refer to her as “MC” ~ think MC Hammer) who is just as crazy about creating as I am.  I suppose I should tell you a little about how we met.  “MC” is also a Close to My Heart Consultant and we met when she posted on our company bulletin board that she wasn’t able to go to convention (I didn’t go either) but she would share information that she received from other consultants on her Facebook page.  I immediately signed up to be a friend – learned that she lived about 20 minutes from me and from the art work I saw her post thought we had a similar style.  After convention we remained FB friends and when I saw a post that she was in my hometown looking for a restaurant I had to respond.  She was quite pleased with my recommendation and after returning from her trip we agreed to meet at Starbucks for coffee and to talk about the new catalog we had both recently received.  MC is very creative…I have great marketing and business ideas and we are a great “think tank” when it comes to our businesses.  MC supported me during my recent open house and I am looking forward to attending hers tomorrow to see what little tidbits I can pick up!

Now, on to the crafting…yesterday was a spectacular day!  After a quick trip to the dentist I came home let the dogs out for a run as I got “consumable” supplies together, texted MC and was soon on my way.  I pulled up in front of her townhouse around 10 am – we created and chatted for 8 hours (only taking a break for a piece of the most scrumptious chocolate cake).  I was honestly surprised when I checked the time and it was 7:00pm…the last I had checked it was 1:30 and I mentally made a note that I must leave by 3.  How did that happen?

It’s definitely fun to craft at someone else’s craft room…new stamp sets, different colors of ink (she has them all) and the challenge is to use something that you don’t necessarily love and turn it into spectacular art.  You will see from the attached pictures that I was busy yesterday…using colors I wouldn’t necessarily use (Juniper, Tulip and Creme Brulee) I fell in love with the colors from our Typeset Paper Packet.

The little Pink Elephant card was inspired by the colors of the Elemental Paper Packet and stamped using the Zoology stamp set.  The card features special die cuts using the Cricut Art Philosphy cartridge available from Close to My Heart.  This cartridge is AWESOME!!!  No more hand-cutting as it coordinates with so many of our stamp sets.  It comes with over 700 shapes AND an exclusive alphabet!

Happy Thoughts

For my final creative project (it was actually the first I made) I covered a spiral notebook and paired it with a cute card in Harvest colors.

I hope that this has inspired you to fit a little creative time into your schedule.  If you are interested in purchasing any products that were used please contact me and remember “a little bling never hurt anything.”

One thought on “A Creative Day

Comments are closed.