Cruisin’ Into July

Hop on into my Pink Cadillac (ok it’s actually Tulip, but it just didn’t have the same ring to it)  for a quick spin around the Paper Trail Blog Hop…if you’ve arrived here from Karen’s Inky Fingers Blog you are on the right route…if not don’t worry it’s a big circular loop and if you follow the exits (links) you’ll end up back here at the end!

Cruisin’ (X7154B) is one of the paper packets that I instantly fell in love with, but it seemed so theme specific I wasn’t sure if it was something I’d actually use.  Since I wasn’t sure there was a road trip in my future to scrapbook I chose to make cards.

I figure that I can never have enough “thank you” cards on hand so I thought using the map paper with all the roads and “Many Thanks” was a fun tie in.  I got quite excited when I realized that the map was of the state of Texas and featured the city of Wichita Falls where I have relatives.

I used the Wishes book for inspiration using the “Top It Off” pattern on Page 50.  Instead of the standard card I chose the Colonial White Die Cut Cards (Z1738) for my base.  The checkerboard paper is the zip strips from the top of the cardstock layered onto Cranberry Paper which was stamped with Black Ink with the February Stamp of the Month Thoughtful Tidings (s1202).  I added a Dimensional Element Star (Z1680) directly inked in Honey ink to the flap of the card.  It reminded me of a star that you might see on a map for a capital.

The 5 X7 card is quickly becoming one of my favorites…it just lends itself to a little larger stamp and more room for a lengthy note on the inside.  My inspiration again came from Wishes using the Midpoint pattern on page 77.  I have used this pattern quite frequently lately and my book almost opens to it by itself!  I used the Adventure USA (D1503) and For Every Occasion (D1187) stamp sets.  The inks I used were Black, Juniper, Grey Wool, Pear, Honey, Cotton Candy, Indian Corn Blue and Tulip for my “Cadillac”.

 I hope you have enjoyed your “cruise” through my artwork … now take the exit to the Wizards Hangout and see what Vicki has in store for you…I’m sure it’s splendid!

3 thoughts on “Cruisin’ Into July

Comments are closed.