Sketchy Birthday

You know when you see something and a creative thought comes right into your head?  That is exactly what happened with the Atlantic Hearts Sketch Challenge #51 this week.

When I saw the break at the middle of the card I immediately thought this would be perfect for a gate card fold and attach the sentiment at the opening.

My niece is celebrating her 12th birthday on Sunday so I wanted to do something with her favorite colors and luckily I had some scraps of the Sarita Paper Packet left.  This card is cut 6 X 10 and scored at 31/2 and 7, the front is then cut using an Edgelit and the Big Shot.  I then cut down the bottom front panel so that it didn’t bind when it closed.  I stamped a Perfect Fit Frame in Gypsy Ink and then the It’s Party Time Sentiment from A Perfect Fit Birthday in Lagoon and mounted it with a piece of 3D Foam Tape.  The Purple Shimmer Trim is adorned with some clear sparkles.

DSCN0171

If I’m using a base of colored cardstock, I always line the inside of my card with a neutral to make it easier to include a quick personal note.  Of course, it goes without saying that I love to make the inside as pretty as the outside too!  Here I stamped the Happy Birthday in Lagoon Ink and then added Purple and Teal Shimmer Trim for a little added pop of color.

DSCN0172

I would really encourage you to stop by the Atlantic Hearts Sketch Challenge.  Next week is their one year anniversary and I can hardly wait to see what they have up their sleeve!!

Thanks again for stopping by!

Tracey

13 thoughts on “Sketchy Birthday

  1. Awesome take on this weeks sketch!! Love all of it! Thanks for playing with us this week at AHSC:)

  2. I love your card..the colors, papers and how the card opens, never made a card that opened like that myself..gonna try it. thanks for sharing in the AHSC,
    cathyplus5.blogspot.com
    DT

Comments are closed.