What A Hoot!

 

DSCN1119

 

I love Halloween – almost as much as Christmas.  It brings back memories of my childhood, my mom dressing up to pass out the candy, making caramel apples and wondering if it would start snowing before we got back from trick or treating; so it’s no wonder that I instantly fell in love with the August Stamp of the Month – Give a Hoot!

I wanted to play in my craft room today, but had the responsibility of getting my papers cut for my Thursday night class.  So, after getting everything trimmed and packaged I decided I would take a minute and get inky with this cute little owl.

DSCN1121

I decided for quickness instead of originality and stayed with the Halloween theme, I also had a brand new package of Scardey Cat paper just waiting to be opened.  As you might have spied in the above picture – we have NEW markers!  Close to My Heart has partnered with Shinhan Art to sell a fantastic set of alcohol markers.  I have used several kinds of alcohol markers and have not been overly impressed until today!  The ink is so smooth and layers very nicely.  I started small with just three “halloween” colors, but can’t wait for my complete set to arrive!  The owls eyes are accessorized with Purple Glitter Gems that coordinate nicely with the new Thistle ink.  You can’t tell real well in the picture but the Thistle cardstock has been embossed with the Quatrefoil embossing folder to give it some texture.

 

DSCN1120

As I’ve mentioned in the past I think it’s just as important to take a minute and decorate the inside of your cards.  Here I added a piece of black cardstock and new gold shimmer trim cut into banners and added a popped up jack o lantern from the same SOTM set.  I first stamped the “Jack” and then layered the banners leaving the stem exposed.  I then stamped another “Jack” and fussy cut it out cutting off it’s stem and layered it all together.

For just $5.00 with a qualifying purchase – What a Hoot surely needs to be added to your stamp collection, but hurry it’s only available through the month of August.

Tracey

