AHSC #91 – Honeycomb

My Sweet As Honey Hubby called me from Starbucks today…not to ask if I wanted a coffee brought home, but to tell me he was going to spend the day in meetings and I should craft to my hearts content…I giggled and told him I’d try and fit that in between loads of laundry!  Then I took a sip of the mocha that I had gone and picked up myself and came to the realization that I had just been given a free pass to the craft room.  No Miss B looking over my shoulder, no hubby to distract me (yes after almost 7 years together he still distracts me).  I’m not sure if I stopped before pulling out from the espresso stand.

I am participating in an upcoming blog hop with the You’re the Bomb Stamp set (you can order it here) cute as ever and $3.00 from every sale goes to Operation Smile, it’s a MUST HAVE for your stamp collection!

Anyway…I got those cards out of the way and decided to pop over to the Atlantic Hearts Sketch Challenge – it is probably one of my favorite challenge sites – the sketches are AMAZING and the design team is too!  Sketch #91 was posted and I looked at it and knew exactly what I wanted to do

Honeycomb

I knew I wanted to use the Honeycomb shape instead of circles so I stamped them in Sorbet, Flaxen, Glacier and Chocolate and then punched them out.  I then laid them out on my Versamat to see what size base card stock I needed.  The Versamat is one of my favorite tools from Close to My Heart – the grid helps me line things up perfectly, flip it over an the foam side is perfect for stamping on!

DSCN1768

I repeated the hexagon shapes in flaxen, sorbet & glacier to bring in a little punch to the inside bottom corner of the card.

Here’s a quick list of the items I used which you can purchase here or from your CTMH consultant:

  • Inks:  Sorbet, Flaxen, Glacier, Chocolate, Black
  • My Acrylix Stamps:  C1537 Honeycomb, B1471(Exclusive Hostess Set)  Variety of Thanks
5 thoughts on “AHSC #91 – Honeycomb

  1. LOVE IT! I love those darn hexagons. I have that set and I am always looking for creative ways to use it. I love what you did and I love the colours you chose! Thanks for playing along with AHSC!

    Brandi R.
    AHSC DT member
    crzy4scrapbooking.blogspot.ca

  2. What a great card!! I loved that you took the sketch tall & skinny – great thinking outside the box! Thanks for playing along at AHSC!

  3. Great card! I love those honeycombs too.. that little bit on the inside makes a difference. I really have to start doing that.

  4. Thank you for your comment on my Sketch Challenge #91 – Friend. I love working with the Honeycomb Flair stamp set…in fact this is the first challenge I haven’t used that stamp in AHSC. I love your card and good luck in the challenge.

Comments are closed.