Playing Catch Up

A year to the month after my mom died, Close to My Heart hosted an Album Retreat in Salt Lake City and I thought it was the perfect place to heal my heart.  I was wrong.  I spent a terrific 5 days exploring the surroundings of SLC, however my heart was not into scrapbooking.  Do I regret the trip…not one bit!  I came home with all the pieces to assemble a terrific album including full color instructions.

Fast forward 17 months…I’m putting those terrific pages together.

IMG_1959

I had plenty of time to look at the layouts, figure out what pictures I wanted to use and I’ve started.  These pages feature lots of cuts from the Artbooking Cricut Cartridge.

IMG_1960IMG_1961

 

I love the detail that has gone into these pages and although I didn’t design them they still feel like my pages.  I’m sure that I will recreate the layouts using other images from the same cartridge.

Through the years my scrapbooking has evolved…I cringe when I look at some of the first pages I did in my son’s album 20 plus years ago, but then I look at the plain boring photo album that my mom put together for me – no journaling, no pretty paper, just photos in pockets.  Yes, pocket scrapbooking was apparently popular way back then too!

Thanks for stopping by…I’m heading back to the craft room so I have some more to share later this week.

