Lovely Birds – AHSC #108

I think I have a love/hate relationship with paper, when I see it in the idea book I either love it and can’t wait to get it or hate it and buy it anyway.  I’m not so much that way with stamp sets so it’s kind of a quirky thing I’ve discovered about myself.

The Brushed paper packet was one that I wasn’t sure what I’d do with it even though I’m a pink and glittery girl, I’ve actually found lots of uses for it including this fun card I did for the Atlantic Hearts Sketch Challenge.

  photobucket

This is a bookmark card from a Stampin’ Up (gasp) demonstrators newsletter that I subscribe too.  Julie has lots of free PDF video tutorials so you should check out her blog.

After I had the front finished I thought it just lacked something and started fussy cutting flowers and a bird.  I’m pretty sure that my scissors are going to go into hiding.  The scalloped oval is cut with the cricut and layered in two parts giving that lacy doily pattern.  I tied the front with a piece of the Thick Twine and separated the ends once it was knotted.

This photo collage shows the inside of the card.  I stamped and colored flowers in opposite corners and stamped the sentiment then used my journaling pen to doodle some stitching on two sides connecting the flowers.  I was really happy how it turned out.  It also shows how the bookmark section just folds in as a flap and can be cut off for use.  I’m really proud of my flowers on the front adorning the sentiment, once they were colored and fussy cut I put my pencil eraser end down and ruffled up the petals.

If you have a reader on your mailing list, surprise them with this fun card and gift all in one.  I hope you’re inspired to try something new today.  Thanks for stopping by.

11 thoughts on “Lovely Birds – AHSC #108

  1. Very pretty card, I love it! Thanks for playing along with Atlantic Hearts Sketch Challenge (AHSC)!

    Brandi R
    DT member AHSC
    crzy4scrapbooking.blogspot.ca

    • or my granddaughter 🙂 She recently went to live with her dad and is having a hard time adjusting so I send her a weekly card – usually one of my challenge cards. She loves to read so this is perfect for her.

  2. What a lovely card. This is one of my favorite stamp sets. Thank you for sharing your wonderful project at Atlantic Hearts Sketch Challenge.

  3. Tracey, Your card is lovely! I must get that stamp set with the birds – I really like them – and your fussy cutting was well worth the effort. Good luck! — Melanie

Comments are closed.