Birthdays Galore

What happens when an only child marries a man with 6 siblings?  Your birthday list multiples to sometimes what seems an unmanageable amount.

When I turned the calendar to June and noticed that there are 8 birthdays to celebrate I nearly ran back to bed and pulled the covers over my head, instead I headed to the craft room and started thinking about the 8 people (6 of which are male) celebrating their special days.

I pulled out my Wishes Book for these first two cards. The Robot is from a retired CTMH set.  I started with using a panel of Slate Fundamentals and layered a strip of Arrow Washi Tape white cardstock then layered on Crystal Blue C/S under the white panel stamped with the Robot which I colored with the Shin Han Markers.  I don’t ever give much thought to my coloring I just grab what I’m in the mood for and somehow it just comes together.

I love the little monsters in the Love Ya Silly stamp set.  If I can find a reason to use them I take advantage of it and since I’m making “male” birthday cards my collection of flowers and frilliness just didn’t fly.  I took some extra time with the Confetti Wishes B&T to make sure that I got a full row of candles and the words celebrate.

IMG_2452

My last card is actually my favorite of this bunch.  It’s for a great nephew who’s at just the right age (I hope) to like airplanes.  I know I’ve seen him carrying cars and trains around.  The layer of Washi Tape along the bottom reminds me of clouds.  I popped up the banner with 3D foam tape to give the card a little dimension.

I’m glad that my husband had a rule before we married of not attending all those birthday parties and it’s my choice to do the cards, it’s done out of love and the hopes of receiving a few birthday cards of my own when my birthday rolls around in August.  Now it’s time to get back to the craft room!

2 thoughts on “Birthdays Galore

Comments are closed.