Big Top

I checked out a couple of challenges today and found that both the Color Dare and Working 9 to 5 over at Heart to Heart Challenges fit right with the card I needed to make today!

I am just about to burst my buttons today…my son started his first official job!  Not to go into the details but this is a major accomplishment and not only did he get a job, but he was offered 4 different jobs and had his pick!  Pretty good for someone that had never even interviewed!  I wanted him to know that he is “tops” in my book!

The Color My Heart Color Dare Challenge this week is to use Goldrush, Hollyhock, Kraft and Colonial White.  I have a MAJOR crush on Kraft cardstock right now so this is right up my alley!  I had fun doing some different things with this card – first the base is cut at 9 X 4.25 and then folded at 3.5 (it’s a pattern from the Originals book, but I didn’t turn it into a pocket I left it open)

I layered a piece of Goldrush Fundamentals to the front and then added a piece of Hollyhock C/S.  I stamped the “tent” on a piece of Colonial White in Hollyhock and knowing the square was too small stamped in a second time on a scratch piece and fussy cut the top which I paper pieced once everything was in place.  I lifted it with thin 3D foam tape to give it just a little dimension.

IMG_3158
The sentiment is mounted to the flap area and serves a purpose to hold the card closed.  On the inside I stamped an elephant playing with a ball.

In case your wondering my son didn’t run off and join the circus, but I wanted him to know that I want him to have a “ball” at his new job and that I think he’s tops!

Thanks for stopping by today.  Check out the other participants at the two challenges and see what you might come up with and enter to have some fun!

9 thoughts on “Big Top

  1. Such a fun card! Congrats to your son, that is an accomplishment! Thanks for playing along with Heart 2 Heart Challenge (H2H)!

    Brandi R
    DT member H2H Challenge
    crzy4scrapbooking.blogspot.ca

  2. Congratulations to your son on his job! It’s a great milestone in any kid’s life when they land one and I’m sure you are very proud of him! I bet he liked his fun card too!

    Thanks for sharing with us at Heart2Heart Challenges this week!

    Paige

  3. A card perfect for the occasion! Thanks for playing with us at Heart 2 Heart!

    H2H Design Team

  4. Congratulations to your son! I love that your card is packed with meaning. I appreciate you going through the steps you took to make. And your blog tagline “a little bling never hurt anything” makes me smile. Thanks for showing us how at Heart 2 Heart Challenges!

  5. Glad to hear he didn’t join the circus! My granddaughter joined a traveling carnival and came home pregnant and full of tatoos! Can’t wait to see the finished card!

Comments are closed.