Think Outside the Box

Sometimes I think we box ourselves in to how a paper packet should be used.  For instance the Calypso Paper Packet is paired so nicely in the catalog with flamingos and fruit.  Who hasn’t fallen in love with the Tickled Pink stamp set?  But what about your other favorite stamps?

image

I LOVE the Safari Ballet stamp set.  I think that little hippo is just like me all round, fluffy and pretty in pink and wanting to be a ballerina.  There is nothing about this card that says flamingo or fruit.  It is just some fun summery colors mixed in a confetti paper.

How about a wedding card?

image

Would you have guessed that this striking mix of Canary & Black was from the Calypso Paper Packet.  The Mr & Mrs Stamp set (C1621) is filled with fun mix & match words to pair up with a couple of ampersands and some hearts and arrows.

Even though I don’t like to have to send them, every once in a while there is a need for a get well card.

image

This one is also made with the Calypso papers – I topped off the lagoon stripe with a zip strip.  I really loved the soft feel of the colors so I stamped the band-aid in second generation lagoon.  Now don’t you think that this would make someone feel better?

Of course I couldn’t pass up another chance to make a card with the May Stamp of the Month.

image

My cake slice is topped with a single candle which I colored with my Shin Han markers.  You can’t tell real well in the photo, but I used my colorless blender to lift some ink and make it more ombre.

So next time you look at one of our paper packets and think that you don’t need it because it has a “certain feel” take another look and think what you might be able to do with it in another way.

Thanks for stopping by!

 

 

 

