A Florence Curtain Call

I stopped by the Between the Folds Blog Challenge yesterday to gain a little inspiration for some art…the challenge is to use the Florence Paper Packet. I’ve had a hard time jump starting my heart for Florence although I think this card might have done it for me.

While hubby worked on a little pot belly stove I decided to wrap my head around this challenge.  I started with just taking one sheet of paper out of the pack and just feeling it and basically letting it “speak to me”.  That might sound weird but it’s the way my creativity starts.  I decided that I wanted to go with a colored base and a curtain fold and away I went.  The white panel looked so stark above the curtain that I decided to give it a little texture with the Honeycomb embossing folder, I topped it off with the zip strip which gave me an idea to add a flower.  My Cricut cut flower is inked using the rock & roll technique with Saffron & Poppy inks and a Cocoa center.   I couldn’t really decide where I wanted to put a sentiment and I still didn’t like the white piece so I used our new thin cut “thanks” to cut some Poppy CS.  I think it gave it just the balance the card needed.  To finish it off I added a sprinkle of gold sequins.

I love the new new Between the Folds Blog Challenge as the challenges are posted for two weeks at a time.  This is a fairly new blog challenge group – it was opened in November 2015 – you should really stop by and check it out (play along too)!

Thanks for stopping by…hope you’ve enjoyed my Curtain Call for Florence.  Please take a minute and tell me what you think of my card and if you have a favorite Challenge Blog that I should check out.

6 thoughts on “A Florence Curtain Call

  1. I love this card, so many fun details. I love the Thin Cuts, I did not immediately order the word thin cuts but seeing how you and so many others are using them, they are really so versatile. Thanks for playing along with Between the Folds (BTF)!

    Brandi R
    DT member BTF
    crzy4scrapbooking.blogspot.ca

  2. Such a beautiful card! Love the flower and the embossed background piece is a great touch. Thank you for inspiring us at Between The Folds Bi-Weekly Challenge Blog.

Comments are closed.