A Good Base

On Monday I posted about the great patterns that are available for our Workshops Your Way kits and I wanted to show you what happens when you just change a few papers around.

Today I wanted to share a couple of cards using the same card pattern, but lots of different twists from the original pattern.

img_7182First up is a birthday card made using the Adventure Fundamentals Paper Packet.

The change from embossed paper to a pattern paper was pretty easy, but I still wanted my card to have some texture so I embossed the  black cardstock banner.

I used the stamps from the card workshop and just interchanged the sentiment.  Finishing off the card were Black & White Dots.

 

Since the Kind Thoughts kit is made with paper from the Cats & Bats Workshop I thought I’d change a few things up and bring you a spooky Halloween party invitation!

Here’s what I knew when I started this card…I wanted a base of black that I could emboss with the retired Confetti Stars embossing folder to make it look like a night sky.  I wanted to use the “word” B&T paper and I wanted to use a combination of stamps from the Cats & Bats suite of products.

Adding an embossed background really gives your card some great texture.  I love my Big Shot, but if you are limited on space a Cuttlebug will work just fine.  I just kept building on the card as I went along – the cute EEK replaces the circle on my original card and I stamped a spiderweb on the top part of the tag.

Grab this pattern (you can find it here) and make a card using any Close to My Heart papers other than what I’ve used here and share with me on my Papercrafting Princess Facebook page prior to 9/30 for a chance to win a sample packet of papers from the current Holiday Expressions.

product image

